Uncategorized

First Time Solo Traveler_ Part 1

Everything happens for a reason. This all started in August, no itinerary just a trip to Mozambique.  It was time for our vacation but my friends decided not to go anymore. Boy did I feel like crying, but I said I’m going, even if it means going alone.

So I booked a Intercape bus ticket from Johannesburg to Maputo where I would sleep at Fatima’s Backpackers for the night and leave the following morning. Arrived at Maputo at 17h45 with the hopes that my pick up shuttle will be waiting for me but I was fooled by an old man who said he was going to Fatima’s only to find he was taking chances and I had to pay him 500mt. He dropped me off safely at the backpacker hostel where I met several beautiful solo travelers. Two Brazilian guys and a beautiful American lady.

I had to sort out my internet so I could either SKYPE or Whatsapp my mother in South African. I decided to use Mobicel as I assumed it would be better than Vodacom. But assumptions are never good but it wasn’t that bad for. We shared stories and eventually decided on going out to a chilled bar in Maputo. I decided to take a nap so I can feel fresh for the night out but I didn’t wake up until 03h00 the following morning when I had to catch a 05h00 bus to Tofo in Inhambane. – Nomadic Nomzeth

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

